This is a database that contains over 1800 full-text peer reviewed journals. The journals cover behavioral/social sciences, health/life sciences, and physical sciences (i.e., biology, chemistry, geology, mathematics, and physics).
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
This full-text searchable, facsimile-image database makes experiencing historical events, daily life and 19th-century American culture as easy as clicking a mouse. 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides both professional and general researchers with easy access to seemingly endless information and primary resources — the vast majority of which have never before been accessible online.
•2.1 million periodical pages in the first two series
•Selected by experts in the field
•Full runs when possible
•First two series Include publications on women, children, leisure and sport, humour, anthropology, travel, missionaries. colonies
•Forthcoming series on Culture, Working Life, and Knowledge
•Once completed, over 600 publications and 6 million pages
American Fiction, 1774-1920 encompasses more than 17,500 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I, including thousands never before available online.This landmark digital collection is based on authoritative bibliographies including Lyle H. Wright’s American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography, widely considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult prose fiction of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, and Geoffrey D. Smith’s American Fiction, 1901-1925: A Bibliography, comprising nearly three-quarters of all adult fiction published in the United States during this time period.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender, the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research.
The Library defines pamphlets as those monographs of fifty or fewer pages that lack any physical attribute, such as illustrations or a special provenance, that call for it to be catalogued according to rare-book standards. Most of the pamphlets in the collection are on Brazilian subjects or their authors are Brazilian; the majority were published in Brazil or Portugal. Other countries of publication include Argentina, Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Uruguay. Within the online archive, Portuguese is the language of 91 percent of the pamphlets; English, 3.4 percent; French, 4.7 percent; and Spanish, German, Italian, and Latin combined, 1 percent. All Brazilian provinces and states are represented, either topically or as places of publication.
British Literary Manuscripts Online
presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen.
Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.
1 million newspaper pages
Newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations
The most comprehensive collection of early English newspapers
Titles from London, British Isles, and colonies
Gale, part of Cengage Learning has partnered with Chatham House, the world-leading centre for policy research on international affairs, to digitise Chatham House’s rich archive covering the 20th and 21st centuries. Containing over 90 years of high level analysis and research on global trends and key events and issues, this searchable online archive brings international affairs knowledge and expertise directly to you.
China from Empire to Republic: Missionary, Sinology and Literary Periodicals is a collection of seventeen English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years extending from 1817 until 1949, when the People’s Republic of China was founded. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911-1949), when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic with modern approaches to politics, literature, education, public morality, and intellectual life.
With 2.1 million pages of trial transcripts, police and forensic reports, detective novels, newspaper accounts, true crime literature, and related ephemera, Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 presents the broadest and deepest collection of materials supporting the study of nineteenth-century criminal history, law, literature, and justice. This quintessential resource enhances understanding of the intersection of law and society during a pivotal era of social change.
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library (1475-1900) is the first full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books, it exemplifies the long exchange of ideas and learning between Europe and the Arabic-speaking world.
Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes)
Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue
Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere
Primarily in English - also includes other languages
The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of the world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2010, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean serves the needs of students and researchers by bringing together in a single place a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.
Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples: North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations, meeting a need for historical researchers. Indigenous Peoples: North America provides a robust, diverse, and appealing search experience and enable intelligent inquiry into the culture and heritage of indigenous people.
Liberty: A Weekly for Everybody was founded in 1924 by Joseph Patterson, publisher of the New York Daily News and Robert McCormick, publisher of the Chicago Tribune and often regarded as the world's greatest publisher. From its inception, they set out to make the magazine more topical, daring and exciting than any competitors. Information was presented in a style heavily influenced by the emerging motion picture industry and focused on the most sensational and popular issues.
Over 62,400 titles
Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more
Sourced from leading collections at major libraries around the world
Tracks the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth
Titles are in English as well as many other languages
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is the result of partnerships between Gale and almost one hundred libraries to preserve and make digitally available content for academic research. With guidance and feedback of professionals and end-users to ensure that we were selecting and preserving unique, invaluable documents, Gale is excited to bring you a wide range of content covering the long nineteenth century and beyond. Nineteenth Century Collections Online unites multiple, distinct archives into a single resource of over one hundred types of primary source documents.
Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with PsycARTICLES, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. PsycARTICLES connects you to current full-text journal articles written by esteemed researchers from across psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Discover the latest scholarship that will shape and inform your research. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
This multi-year initiative has Gale digitizing Smithsonian’s vast, unmatched primary source materials from deep within the museums, libraries, and archives of the world’s largest museum and research complex. We will make this rare content available in searchable formats, integrating it with software that aligns with scholarly workflow.
State Papers Online, 1509 -1714, published in four seamless Parts, offers researchers a ground-breaking online resource for understanding two hundred years of British and European history, from the reign of Henry VIII to the end of the reign of Queen Anne. The largest digital manuscript archive of its kind, State Papers Online, 1509-1714 gathers together 16th- and 17th- century British State Papers and links these rare historical manuscripts to their fully text-searchable Calendars. As such, it radically transforms and simplifies the process of research, offering Early Modern scholars unprecedented access to the behind the scenes workings of the Tudor and Stuart governments.
State Papers Online, 1509-1714 gathers together 16th- and 17th- century British State Papers and links these rare historical manuscripts to their fully text-searchable Calendars. As such, it radically transforms and simplifies the process of research, offering Early Modern scholars unprecedented access to the behind the scenes workings of the Tudor and Stuart governments.
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2013. Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
The full facsimile run of the world’s most iconic illustrated newspaper
Includes over 260,000 pages, including specials and presentation pieces
Full colour imaging of every page
Search every word of the complete text
Browse individual issues, including specials and supplements
Save articles and pages in the marked list; bookmark, e-mail and print results
The Independent is a major British daily national newspaper, launched in 1986 as an antidote to its often overtly politicised rivals. Its evolution over a quarter of a century has been considerable, but throughout that period it has retained a unique position in British journalism.
The Listener was a weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio - and later, television - programmes in print. It is our only record and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts.
The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 has over 1 million pages of content and includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. The archive offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over a timespan of almost 150 years.
Welcome to the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, containing every page of every copy of the TLS published from 1902-2012.
This easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable resource is a witness to the cultural revolutions of the last 100 years and offers unparalleled opportunities for tracking the views of influential opinion-makers, the response of their peers, the controversies of the day and how they developed.