Skip to main content
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

How to Research: Find Articles

Just getting started on a research paper or project? Don't know where to start? This is the guide for you!

Types of Articles

Articles can be found in newspapers, magazines, and journals (sometimes called periodicals). 

Use a newspaper article:

  • to find current information about international, national, and local events
  • to find editorials, commentaries, and expert, or popular opinions

Use a magazine article:

  • to find information or opinions about popular culture
  • to find up-to-date information about current events
  • to find general articles written for people who are not necessarily specialists in the topic area

Use a journal article:

  • when doing scholarly research
  • to find out what has been studied on a topic
  • to find bibliographies that point to relevant research on a topic

Find Articles

You can search and find articles by topic or type in the library databases. For most research, you will need to search multiple databases. To find the best database for your topic, use one of the Subject Guides or go to the Library's Complete Database List page. 

For example, you can start with a general database to find articles on most topics:

You can use subject-specific database to find articles most relevant to your topic:

You can use databases to find specific types of articles, like news or peer-reviewed articles:

 

To find the best database for your topic, use one of the Subject Guides or go to the Library's Complete Database List.

 

Can't Find What You Need?

MHC Library will attempt to fulfill requests for materials not currently available in its collection. MHC students, faculty, and staff may simply request items using the online library search box.

Video - Searching Online Databases

Many of the library databases use the EBSCOhost search interface.

Find Articles

Find Articles