MHC Library Guides: History: HIST 345 (Crime in Canada)

HIST 345 - Newspaper Research Assignment

For this assignment, you need to find a variety of sources:

At least three secondary sources (background information on the topic)

These may include books, articles, or reputable websites.
Use the tabs along the top of this guide to locate different types of sources.

Books or articles about the value of newspapers as a primary source

Several examples are on reserve in the MHC library.

3-5 historical newspaper articles on the topic

News articles published in Canada at the time of the crime.
The Globe and Mail and Google News Archive

Digital Collections

These collections include other primary sources and may include newspapers. They may be used to find supplemental material for this assignment.

Canadiana

Peel's Prairie Provinces This link opens in a new window
An open access database focused on the culture and history of the Canadian prairie provinces. Materials offered consist of digitized books, newspapers, articles, postcards, and maps. It also contains materials in French, Ukrainian, and numerous other languages. Most coverage dates from 1945-1950 for digitized books, and 1871-2013 for newspaper issues.
.

Historical Newspapers Collections

OurOntario.ca Community Newspapers Collection
Southern Alberta Newspapers (U of L)
Peel's Priairie Provinces - Newspapers (U of A)
Early Alberta Newspapers
Evening Telegram (St. John's, NL) 1879-1899
Chronicling America (U.S. Library of Congress)
Selected U.S. newspapers from 1836-1922.
List of Online Newspapers (Canada) [Wikipedia List]
Thorough list of free and paid access digitized newspapers by province.

Historical Newspapers (Google News Archive)

Access digitized newspapers from Google News. Coverage varies (not all years are available). Includes many Canadian publications. A list of newspaper titles and coverage is here:

Google News