Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MHC Library Services provides assistance with MLA Style.
For accurate MLA Style, follow the rules of the MLA in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th Ed.). This manual is available in print at the Vera Bracken Library. Your instructor may have specific rules or formats for each assignment.
MHC Library Services MLA Style Guide - This guide outlines the core rules of MLA style and provides citation examples for a variety of different formats.
Oxford Essential Dictionary by
Call Number: Reference Collection - PE 1628 O8678 2006
Publication Date: 2006
A collection of print dictionaries are available in the library. Click above for a list of all English language dictionaries at MHC.
Oxford English Dictionaries (Online) by
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: Regularly updated
Oxford Dictionaries Online is a comprehensive and fully searchable dictionary of American, British, and World English. This resource defines more than 350,000 words and includes audio pronunciations. The Oxford Dictionary Online provides regular updates to the dictionary as the English language continues to develop.
In addition to the definitions and updates, Oxford Dictionaries Online provides: 600,000+ antonyms and synonyms in its thesauruses; more than 1.9 million example sentences; and guides for grammar, spelling, and writing. The “My Oxford Dictionary” service allows you to create a personal profile to save entries and searches.