Share a persistent link if you want others to easily access an article off campus.
A persistent link, also know as a permalink or stable link, is a URL that connects directly to a full text article within a library licensed database.
To create a persistent link, go to the library web page and search the title of the article you want to share, click on the title, then look for the permalink or link button usually on the right hand side of the page. Each database looks a little bit different, here's an example:
and another one:
When you click on the permalink button, a link will appear at the top of the page. This is the link you should share. Here's an example:
and another one:
Need help? Email email@example.com and we can help you create a persistent link.
As a student or staff member of MHC you have access to articles, eBooks, and videos from online library databases. A list of databases is accessible through the "Database List" on the library's home page or by clicking here.
When you attempt to access electronic library materials from an off campus location, you will first be asked for your credentials. This is your 14 digit barcode number that can be found at the bottom of your student/staff id card.
If you do not have a student ID card and don't know your student ID number you can find it online in the student Dashboard.
MHC staff and students have access to digital materials from other libraries through interlibrary loan.
Search for the article you are interested in obtaining, you may have to broaden your search to include libraries worldwide for your items title to appear in your search results. You can do this on the left hand side of the library search page:
Once you've found the title of the item you are interested in. click on it, you should see a "request item from another library" button halfway down the page, click on it and fill out the form that appears.
Once your request comes in it will be forwarded to you via email. If you have any questions please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Copyright For Students
Copyright for Instructors
Copyright is a set of rights that relate to the reproduction of works. Works include text, art, music, dramatic works and computer programs, as well as sound recordings, performances and communication signals. Copyright belongs to a works’ creator.
Only the copyright holder can reproduce a work or authorize others to do so.
Link to Copyright Compliance Policy?
Copyright protection is automatic as soon as an idea is expressed in a fixed form (this means put on paper, recorded, published, blogged, e-mailed, etc.)
Copyright belongs to creators of the following material:
Copyright does not protect factual information or data, titles, short word combinations, names, characters, slogans, themes, plots, or ideas.
Some materials may be in the public domain or licensed with re-use rights (such as materials with a Creative Commons license). You can search for such material using the Creative Commons search engine (link).
Usually, the creator of a work owns the copyright. However, copyright ownership may be transferred in certain cases (for example, to a publisher).
Copyright owners have the sole legal right to:
A copyright owner can license any or all of these rights to someone else (individual or organization) temporarily, or assign them to another entity permanently.
In Canada, copyright lasts for the creator’s lifetime, plus 50 years.
Copyright is automatic. A creator instantly has economic and moral rights over his/her work. Many choose to register copyright on their works as an added measure of protection. There’s more information about this on the CIPO website.
Yes, even without a © symbol the work can still be copyright protected. The symbol simply serves as a reminder.
You ask. If your use is not permitted by a license, or one of the exceptions in the Copyright Act, you will need to ask the copyright owner for permission. Identify who the copyright owner is and whether there is an organization that represents the owner or if you can ask the owner directly. There are a number of copyright collectives which can give you permission (in the form of a license) on behalf of the copyright owner to use their work.
Remember that copyright owners have the right to say no, charge a fee or impose conditions on the use of their work.
Contact MHC’s copyright specialist (link to contact page) with any questions you might have about obtaining copyright permissions.
Copyright For Students
As a student, you’re allowed to make a copy of an insubstantial part of a work for yourself for the purposes of education, private study, research, parody, satire, review, criticism or news reporting. Make sure the amount of what you copy is in line with MHC’s Fair Dealing Guidelines (link to Fair Dealing page).
MHC follows a set of Fair Dealing Guidelines that outline how much material is fair for a student to copy. The Fair Dealing Guidelines can be found here (link to Fair Dealing page).
You may include another person’s work, including images, in your class presentations and assignments as long as you follow MHC’s Fair Dealing Guidelines (link to guidelines).
It is a great idea to look for material for your assignments that is licensed for re-use. You can search for such material using the Creative Commons search engine (link).
Different publishers have different rules & licensing agreements about what can be done with e-books. These rules will vary depending on which e-book you are accessing. This should be indicated on the webpage that provides the Full Text link. If you have any questions feel free to ask someone at the Library Information Desk.
Yes. As a creator your work is protected by copyright.
Copyright For Instructors
Yes. If you are copying material for use in a course, fair dealing allows for limited copying of short excerpts of copyright protected works. The Fair Dealing Guidelines can be found here (link to Fair Dealing page).
Yes. The Fair Dealing Guidelines allow you to make copies of another person’s works and hand them out to students enrolled in your course. The Fair Dealing Guidelines can be found here (link to Fair Dealing page).
Read more about Fair Dealing here (link to Fair Dealing page).
Yes. Elaborate on this….
A complete list of MHC Library database can be found here. Any databases you see with the symbol next to their link indicate that they are an open access journal. That means that the articles within are open to use and their specific conditions will be indicated.
Probably. Under the Fair Dealing Guidelines you are allowed to make a copy of a single article from a journal to hand out to students. You can review the Fair Dealing Guidelines here (link to Fair Dealing page).
However, if the library has a license agreement with the journal that prevents class handouts you may have to pay a royalty or find another way to make it accessible for your students. Check with the Copyright Specialist if you have any questions (link to contact).
Being out of print does not mean that a book is no longer protected by copyright. The same Fair Dealing Guidelines will apply (link to Fair Dealing page).
Different publishers have different licensing agreements and rules concerning what can be done with e-books. These rules will vary depending on which e-book you are accessing. This should be indicated on the webpage that provides the Full Text link. If you have any questions feel free to ask someone at the Library Information Desk.
You may include another person’s work, including images, in your class presentations as long as you follow MHC’s Fair Dealing Guidelines (link to guidelines). The same guidelines apply for posting material on Blackboard.
Materials on the Internet are treated the same under copyright law as any other copyright protected materials. If you want to use them without permission, they have to either fall within one of the Act’s exceptions (such as Fair Dealing –link to Fair Dealing Guidelines), or be open access or in the public domain.
No. Most material found on the Internet is protected by copyright just like any other material (unless otherwise indicated).
Linking to a website is almost always okay. Just make sure that the website is not posting content without the copyright owners permission.
Yes. If it looks as if the posted video may be an infringing copy you should look for a different video.
Yes. Elaborate on this.
No. The Netflix terms of service allow for personal use only.
Yes. As long as the audience is mostly students.
Yes & yes, as long as you are meeting the MHC Fair Dealing Guidelines (link to Fair Dealing page).
Maybe. Check the license agreement on the article to make sure it allows for posting on LMS (Blackboard). The Copyright Specialist (link to contact) can help you determine that if you are having trouble.
Yes, as long as you are meeting the MHC Fair Dealing Guidelines (link to Fair Dealing page).
Yes. However, if you suspect the material to be posted to YouTube without the owner’s consent, it’s best to find a legitimate, non-infringing video.
Maybe, if the student gives their consent. You can find the appropriate form here (link to forms page).
Articles, single book chapters, lecture notes, and any other material that qualifies for copying under the Fair Dealing Guidelines can be placed on reserve. You can review the process for course packs and reserves here (link to course pack page).
Yes. The Copyright Act allows you to play a sound recording or live radio broadcasts in class for educational purposes (the audience must be mostly students).
Yes. If you have legally obtained a commercial copy of a movie you can play it for the purpose of education (the audience must be mostly students).
Question by Jessica Lock from the the Noun Project licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.