MHC Library Guides: History: Canadian History

Finding Primary Sources in Databases

Primary sources are first-hand accounts, objects or artefacts, original data, or records created at the time of an event. They may be adapted into digitized versions, but they are still considered primary sources.

Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Provides primary sources that track the development of western trade and European imperialism. Topics covered include the Industrial Revolution in Great Britain, the economic theories that challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century, colonization and more. Coverage dates from the 1500s to the early twentieth century.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Includes 44 databases of various newspapers, primary sources, ebooks, etc. A snapshot of included databases are: American Fiction, 1774 - 1920, Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture, China and the Modern World, Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library, Financial Times Historical Archive,The Shakespeare Collection and more others.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Covers many topics pertaining to Indigenous Peoples in North Americans including culture, history and daily life. This resource is ideal for researching the contributions, struggles and issues surrounding Indigenous Peoples in North America. Coverage dates from 16th century to present.
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
An archive that explores the cultural history of diverse native peoples from the sixteenth century into the twentieth century. Materials offered include scholarly articles, newspapers, indigenous-language materials, photographs, and population census records. Material is sourced from both American and Canadian institutions and newspapers from various tribes.

Finding Primary Sources Online

Use the following archives as part of your search for primary sources.

Library and Archives Canada primary sources, including Government of Canada material
Canadiana Héritage periodicals, newspapers, images, and other nationally significant archival resources
Peel's Prairie Provinces Archive culture and history through digitized books, newspapers, articles, postcards, and maps
University of Calgary Digital Collections archival materials, including a Louis Riel collection and military history
Pier 21: Canadian Museum of Immigration immigration to Canada through oral histories, written stories, and image galleries
Canadian Letters and Image Project digitized letters, photographs, and diary entries on the Canadian war experience
Confederation: Library and Archives Canada a variety of primary sources including sections on pre-confederation Canada
Canada Declassified digital repository of declassified government documents, including documents from WWII and the Cold War
France in America Pre-Confederation primary sources from the Library of Congress
The History Education Network a collection of Canadian primary source links organized by topic

Finding Articles

CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Canadian content from a broad range of Canadian sources related to business, education, and current affairs, among other subjects. Features scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, and more.
This is your best source for Canadian information related to Education.
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Offers access to leading Canadian newspapers, magazines and newswires including Canadian Press, The Guelph Mercury, The Hamilton Spectator, The Record, and Toronto Star. Includes reference books such as The Canadian Global Almanac. Content is updated daily.
JSTOR (now includes ARTstor images) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines and includes a rich digital library of art images and descriptive information. The image collection is available for non-commercial and educational use only through the Medicine Hat College Library Services.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly content in the humanities and science. Subject coverage includes ethnic studies, art and architecture, creative writing, film, history, education, science, technology, mathematics, and more. Features the journal Shakespeare Quarterly.

History

Indigenous Research Resources

Search Tips

Finding Primary Sources in Databases

Finding Primary Sources Online

Finding Articles