JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Occasionally, nursing students may have issues accessing MHC resources. The most common problem being that they are asked to authenticate with their UofC credentials.
A few tips to try:
Contact Lesley Mackie, your library liaison, if these tips do not resolve the issue.
Are you a 3rd or 4th year nursing student? Access even more resources via the University of Calgary Library!
Use library databases to find high-quality information such as scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles, case studies, patient-education, drug information, and news.
The most comprehensive article database for nursing. It includes publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Covers a wide range of topics including biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative medicine and consumer health.
Provides detailed descriptions of procedures, including instructions, equipment needed, preparation guidelines, implementation steps, special considerations, patient teaching information, documentation, and references.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
Examine is a nutrition and supplement research database. Find evidence summaries and fully referenced, evidence-based answers to common nutrition and supplement-related questions.
Provides coverage for all areas of sports and sports medicine literature. Subject coverage includes physical education, orthopedics, coaching and education, consumer health, and more.
Coverage includes psychology and behavior articles written by experts from the American Psychological Association (APA). Also features publications from the Canadian Psychological Association. Coverage dates from as early as 1894.
DrugBank Online is a comprehensive, free-to-access, online database containing information on drugs and drug targets. As both a bioinformatics and a cheminformatics resource, we combine detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
Provides alternative health care articles focused on complementary and holistic medicine. Subjects covered include acupuncture, herbalism, homeopathy, and more. Coverage dates back to 1990.
PLOS ONE is an inclusive journal community working together to advance science for the benefit of society, now and in the future. Founded with the aim of accelerating the pace of scientific advancement and demonstrating its value, we believe all rigorous science needs to be published and discoverable, widely disseminated and freely accessible to all.
The research we publish is multidisciplinary and, often, interdisciplinary. PLOS ONE accepts research in over two hundred subject areas across science, engineering, medicine, and the related social sciences and humanities.
This collection of eBooks includes new business and nursing titles. On- and off-campus access requires your college login.
A video streaming database that provides demonstrations of clinical skills including physical examinations, emergency medicine, and nursing skills.
A video streaming database that provides demonstrations of pharmacology principles and concepts.
This Films on Demand database contains over 700 videos about various aspects of allied health, including medical technology, patient care, and speech & language pathology.
This Films on Demand database includes over 300 videos about physical therapy.
Video tutorial: Searching the Cochrane Library length: Cochrane Training