Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

For Faculty

What is Collection Development?

The library is in a constant state of development as we try to create the best possible collection of resources for the faculty, public, staff, and students. We cannot, however, do it alone. We value the input of faculty in developing the best possible collection of materials for your classes. Strategic collections management of print and electronic resources includes:

  • Thorough evaluation of new additions to the collection
  • Ongoing assessment of current collections
  • Removing outdated, damaged, and low use material

If you have any questions about library resources or if you'd like to request material for purchase, please contact your liaison librarian.

Course Reserves

Library Services offers faculty members the ability to place special materials for their classes in the libraries' Reserve Collections. Both the Brooks and the Vera Bracken Libraries offer this service.

Course reserves can enable you to share both single-use library material and materials you own with your students in a controlled lending environment. Students can access the Reserve Collections by speaking to library staff at the service desk in the Vera Bracken and Brooks campus library.

What can be placed on reserve?

Any material that you want can be placed on reserve status. The material can be owned by the library or yourself, and any medium (audiovisual, article, binder, book, or prop) can be placed in our reserve collection.

Who do I see to set-up my reserves?

See the Service Desk in the library, and the staff will take your information and set up your materials for reserve status. Depending on volume though, it can take up to two working days to set up your materials.