MHC Library Guides: History: Articles

Finding Articles

The databases below contain journal articles and other secondary source material. You will also find primary sources in many of these databases. For a more targeted search for primary sources, consult the primary source page.

Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides historical research materials including multicultural primary sources, scholarly articles, images, and maps. Covers major events in world history, such as the Crusades, the two World Wars, Communism in China, and the end of colonization in Africa and India.
JSTOR (now includes ARTstor images) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines and includes a rich digital library of art images and descriptive information. The image collection is available for non-commercial and educational use only through the Medicine Hat College Library Services.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Covers many topics pertaining to Indigenous Peoples in North Americans including culture, history and daily life. This resource is ideal for researching the contributions, struggles and issues surrounding Indigenous Peoples in North America. Coverage dates from 16th century to present.
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
An archive that explores the cultural history of diverse native peoples from the sixteenth century into the twentieth century. Materials offered include scholarly articles, newspapers, indigenous-language materials, photographs, and population census records. Material is sourced from both American and Canadian institutions and newspapers from various tribes.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
This database will be of use to individuals that are "interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought."
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly articles covering nearly every academic field including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. Features news video content, with footage from 1930s to the present. Updated monthly.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly content in the humanities and science. Subject coverage includes ethnic studies, art and architecture, creative writing, film, history, education, science, technology, mathematics, and more. Features the journal Shakespeare Quarterly.
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Canadian content from a broad range of Canadian sources related to business, education, and current affairs, among other subjects. Features scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, and more.
This is your best source for Canadian information related to Education.
Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q.) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Canadian periodicals including, newspapers, biographies, and magazines. Features a bilingual interface (English/French). Subject coverage includes current events, biographies, health, technology, arts, history and business information. Coverage from 1988
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly articles and abstracts from most major academic publishers, as well as court opinions and patents.
To continue to access library resources off-campus, update your Google Scholar settings: in Google Scholar, select Menu > Settings > Library Links > search "Medicine Hat College" and check both options > Save. If you can't access the full text, contact the Library for help.

Search Tips

Key Words and Synonyms: Consider synonyms for your key words for best success with searching. For example, women might be referred to in the singular, woman, or as female, or as mother or daughter in relation to family or gender roles.
Time Periods: When using specific centuries as search terms you may need to try alternate ways of writing your time period or narrower search terms. For example, "twentieth century" can also be "20th century" or the 1900s, or the 1950s, or "post-war".
Quotation Marks: use quotation marks to search an exact phrase: "North Carolina" (works for most but not all databases)
Use an asterisk to truncate a word e.g. therap* retrieves therapy, therapist, therapeutic etc.
Select peer-review when you need scholarly journal articles.
Select a date range when you only want material published during a certain time frame.
Select "Advanced Search" for narrower search options.

History

How do I use library databases?

Contact Us

Finding Articles

Search Tips