MHC Library Guides: Environmental and Ecological Sciences: Articles

Find Scholarly Articles

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly articles covering environmental aspects of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, renewable energy sources, environmental law, and more. Coverage dates from the 1940s.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
An open access database forcused on environtmental issues. Provides scholarly and governmental information on topics such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.
AGRICOLA (U.S. National Agricultural Library) This link opens in a new window
Content covers all aspects of agriculture such as alternative farming, animal welfare, rural issues, and more. Features special collections, provides access to rare books, manuscripts, nursery & seed trade catalogs, photographs, and posters from the 1500s to the present.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides relevant peer-reviewed research articles for undergraduate-college level studies. Subject coverage includes: Health and Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social and Behavioral Sciences, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q.) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Canadian periodicals including, newspapers, biographies, and magazines. Features a bilingual interface (English/French). Subject coverage includes current events, biographies, health, technology, arts, history and business information. Coverage from 1988
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Canadian content from a broad range of Canadian sources related to business, education, and current affairs, among other subjects. Features scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, and more.
This is your best source for Canadian information related to Education.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly articles and abstracts from most major academic publishers, as well as court opinions and patents.
To continue to access library resources off-campus, update your Google Scholar settings: in Google Scholar, select Menu > Settings > Library Links > search "Medicine Hat College" and check both options > Save. If you can't access the full text, contact the Library for help.

How do I use library databases?

To access library databases off-campus, log in with your campus credentials; the same username and password combination used to access your student accounts.

Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA)

Impact Assessment Agency of Canada: find active assessments across Canada, limit content by date, province, assessment type, among others.
Alberta Government / Open Government Program: search a listing of Government of Alberta open datasets.Note you can limit results to "environment"
Canadian Environmental Assessment Archives: provides access to environmental assessments that were undertaken under the former Canadian Environmental Assessment Act.
Find out more about the Impact Assessment process

Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) is a tool carried out for identifying, predicting, and evaluating the environmental, health, social and economic impacts of development proposals before allowing them to proceed. This process includes opportunities for public engagement as well as Indigenous engagement, reconciliation and partnership (Government of Canada, n.d.)

Note: the term "environmental impact assessment" (EIA) is usually used when applied to actual projects by companies, while the term "strategic environmental assessment" (SEA) applies to policies, plans and programmes most often proposed by government agencies.

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge: The Government of Yukon’s comments on the Coastal Plain Oil and Gas Leasing Program Draft Environmental Impact Statement
Oldman River Dam: Environmental Advisory Committee final recommendations

Britannica: explore the fact-checked online encyclopedi with hundreds of thousands of objective articles, biographies, videos, and images. It has a real editorial staff, and high quality articles. It is, however, a general encyclopedia, and so its purpose is to meet the needs of a general audience, not a specialist audience.

Environmental and Ecological Sciences

Magazines

Need Help? Contact Us

Find Scholarly Articles

How do I use library databases?

Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA)