Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Articles
Academic Search Complete
Provides scholarly articles covering nearly every academic field including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. Features news video content, with footage from 1930s to the present. Updated monthly.
Humanities International Complete
This database will be of use to individuals that are "interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought."
Provides scholarly articles and abstracts from most major academic publishers. If you can't access the full text, contact the Library for help. Google Scholar also includes court opinions and patents.
History Resource Center: World
Provides historical research materials including multicultural primary sources, scholarly articles, images, and maps. Covers major events in world history, such as the Crusades, the two World Wars, Communism in China, and the end of colonization in Africa and India.
This database contains nearly 300 full-text scholarly publications in a variety of disciplines. All of the journals are peer reviewed.
Images of art only.
How do I use library databases?
To access library databases off-campus, log in with the 14-digit barcode number on your MHC ID Card. You can also find your barcode number online in your student dashboard.
Magazines in Print
The MHC Library subscribes to a variety of magazines and journals that will be of interest to Art students.
Find these in alphabetical order by title in the Periodicals section of the Vera Bracken Library.
Selected titles include:
Features on art, film, art criticism, book reviews, and exhibition reviews with an international scope.
- Canadian Art
- A quarterly magazine on the Canadian art scene
Domus is a monthly magazine of contemporary architecture, design and art.
A magazine created to both help define and celebrate urban alternative and underground contemporary art.
- NOVUM - World of Graphic Design
Novum is a German magazine covering the world of graphic design. It reports on industry news, technology, trends, book reviews, job opportunities, and more.