MHC Library Guides: Business: Articles & News

Scholarly Articles

Business Source Complete Database
Provides articles covering all disciplines of business including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. This databse also offers video content relevant to your search. Features detailed case studies, industry profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
CBCA Complete
Canadian content from a broad range of Canadian sources related to business, education, and current affairs, among other subjects. Features scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, and more.
This is your best source for Canadian information related to Education.
ScienceDirect College Edition
Provides relevant peer-reviewed research articles for undergraduate-college level studies. Subject coverage includes: Health and Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social and Behavioral Sciences, and more.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Identify your customer’s psychographic variables such as values, beliefs, buying patterns, perceptions, and lifestyle choices. Suggested search: [your topic] AND (psychograph* OR "consumer attitude*" OR "consumer behavior*"
GreenFILE
Provides information on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts

Casenet.ca (Video Interviews) Casenet.ca provides streaming video case studies focused on management interviews. Videos offer insight about a recently encountered issue, its importance or cause, along with information about the interviewee, company, and industry. Instructors have access to suggested solutions once they create a free account.
Case Studies from the MIT Business School Case studies "highlight the decision-making process in a business or management setting. Other cases are descriptive or demonstrative in nature, showcasing something that has happened or is happening in a particular business or management environment." (Learning Edge, para.2).
Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative

Canadian Newsstream
Current Canadian news content from over 360 news sources with archives as far back as the 1970s. Newspapers include The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post, Calgary Herald, and more. Updated daily. Text only (photos excluded).
Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q.)
Provides access to Canadian periodicals including, newspapers, biographies, and magazines. Features a bilingual interface (English/French). Subject coverage includes current events, biographies, health, technology, arts, history and business information. Coverage from 1988
Canadian Reference Centre
Offers access to leading Canadian newspapers, magazines and newswires including Canadian Press, The Guelph Mercury, The Hamilton Spectator, The Record, and Toronto Star. Includes reference books such as The Canadian Global Almanac. Content is updated daily.
Regional Business News
Provides access to business publications found in magazines and trusted news sources such as The Washington Post, PR Newswire, and more. This a US-only content database.

CBC Radio - Business Section
The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, branded as CBC/Radio-Canada, is a Canadian federal Crown corporation that serves as the national public broadcaster for both radio and television.
National Public Radio (NPR) - Business Section
Major U.S. public radio. Provides searchable audio archive enabling you to listen to NPR programs related to business and economics.

Canada Commons (Des Libris eBook Collection)
Multidisciplinary eBook database. Subject coverage includes business & economics, Canadian history, education, and more. Offers special collections that include Canadian Law (from 1997 to date) , travel guides, and directory information (from 2011 to date).
eBook Central
This collection of eBooks includes new business and nursing titles. On- and off-campus access requires your college login.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Multidisciplinary eBook database. Subject coverage includes business & economics, Canadian history, education, and more.

Casenet.ca
Casenet.ca provides streaming video case studies focused on management interviews. Videos offer insight about a recently encountered issue, its importance or cause, along with information about the interviewee, company, and industry. Instructors have access to suggested solutions once they create a free account.

Films On Demand
Features videos about leadership and business entrepreneurship.
CBC Curio
Features videos from CBC and Radio-Canada. Subject coverage for business includes: career development, economics, entrepreneurship, management, and marketing.
National Film Board (NFB) Campus
The National Film Board of Canada (NFB) provides business relevant films on environment and conservation, economics, industry, and commerce.
Criterion on Demand
Use mainstream film clips in your business presentations to exemplify leadership, honesty, cooperation, etc. Check "Film Clips with Learning Guides".