MHC Library Guides: Philosophy: Articles

Finding Articles

For the best results enter 2-3 keywords that describe your topic, such as:

philosophy and theology
"theory of holism" and philosophy
"phenomenological research" and philosophy
ethics and "social responsibility"
logic and emotion

To find information about a specific philosopher, search using the philosopher's name:

Aristotle
Descartes, Rene
Hume, David
Kant, Immanuel
Nietzsche, Friedrich
Thomas Aquinas

Academic Search Complete
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling. Subject coverage also includes anthropology, mental processes, observational-experimental methods, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Provides scholarly articles covering gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Coverage dates back to 1908 until present. Database features author profiles, showing the most cited, and most frequently searched.
Project MUSE
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly content in the humanities and science. Subject coverage includes ethnic studies, art and architecture, creative writing, film, history, education, science, technology, mathematics, and more. Features the journal Shakespeare Quarterly.

PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.

Finding a Specific Journal Title

If you need to find a specific journal, for example, Canadian Journal of Philosophy, use the Search for a Journal Title tool on the library website.

From the list of full text results, select the journal title:

Each database will provide options to search or browse articles within the journal.

Find Journal by Title

How do I use library databases?

To access library databases off-campus, log in with your campus credentials; the same username and password combination used to access your student accounts.

Philosophy

Guides for Writing a Literature Review

Contact Us

Finding Articles

Finding a Specific Journal Title

How do I use library databases?