Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTstor Image Database
The ARTstor Digital Library is one of the premiere image databases for research in art and art history topics. It includes more than 80 collections of over one million images. The collections are gathered from a wide variety of museums, research collections, artists and artists’ estates, library special collections, and photo archives. Content includes images from the fields of art, architecture, material culture, maritime history, anthropology, and archeology. The collection is available for non-commercial and educational use only through the Vera Bracken Library.
ARTstor is not only a rich digital library of art images and descriptive information, but also provides software tools to enable active use of the collections. ARTstor's search interface allows users to view and analyze images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
Several in-depth tutorials on using key features are available on the ARTstor website.
Image Resources on the Web
The sites below offer images for research in art and art history and are especially good for illustrating a research paper or creating a class presentation.
Art Images for College Teaching
AICT is a personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Kohl. AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large. The collection focuses on ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture.
Europeana brings together the digitized content of Europe's galleries, libraries, museums, archives and audiovisual collections. As part of this, all metadata on the site are published without any restrictions on re-use.
Fine Art Images
One of the largest online art archives with over 50,000 digital images collected from many museums, libraries and private collections from around the world
Flickr: Creative Commons
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.
This tool is designed to help researchers, scholars, and educators discover the variety of resources available across the Getty's collections, which include collections in each the four programs: the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, the Getty Foundation, and the Getty Research Institute. Users can use the tool to browse our collections broadly, by type of resource (i.e., paintings, books, archives), or to search directly for assets related to very specific subjects—historical periods, artists, object types, etc.
The most comprehensive image search on the web
NGA images - National Gallery of Art
Repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art
Openclipart may be used for any purpose, including unlimited commercial productions, as royalty-free clipart, for schools, churches, commercial and non-commercial reasons.
Pixabay is a repository for stunning public domain images. You can freely use any image from this website in digital and printed format, for personal and commercial use, without attribution requirement to the original author.
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS)
A well-designed site with focus on fashion, craft, 2D design, and contemporary artists working in the UK and internationally. Includes a visual art collection comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research.
Web Gallery of Art
WGA is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 11th to mid-19th centuries. Content focuses on the Renaissance period, the Medieval roots of the period and its evolution to Baroque and Rococo via Mannerism. More recently Neoclassicism, Romanticism and Realism were also included.
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone.