JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Accessibility Initiatives
If OER won't work for you, but you are still interested in making education more affordable and accessible for your students, there are a number of initiatives at Medicine Hat College to reduce costs and eliminate barriers to education.
Do you anticipate using the same textbook in your course? Is it a large course? Bulk purchasing or rentals may be available through the bookstore. Please contact Lisa Prkusic at the MHC Bookstore for more information.
Another great option for cost effective course materials is Coursepacks. Coursepacks are a convenient way to keep course material up-to-date, while being tailored to a specific course. Content is flexible, and can easily combine excerpts from various sources, including personal notes, textbooks, and other published or unpublished materials. Coursepacks can be easily edited and updated for future terms, and are guaranteed to be copyright compliant, as they are reviewed by the Copyright Specialist before production.
Please visit the Coursepack webpage for more information, or contact the Copyright Specialist.
Source: Concordia University
There are many open access materials available through the MHC Library.
Please contact the library for more information.
Canadian Options
Other Options
At Smithsonian Open Access, you can download, share, and reuse millions of Smithsonian's images, right now - without asking. Contains more than 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from Smithsonian's collections.
Smarthistory (The Centre for Public Art History) has over 503 contributors from 201 colleges, universities, museums, and research centres, and is the most-visited art history resource in the world.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Directory of Open Access Books
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published under an open access model, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher's website or repository.
OHP is an international open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought freely available worldwide. All publications are peer-reviewed.
7000+ open access eBooks from 90 different publishers including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press.
Ubiquity Press is a fully open access publisher. They publish both individual and and series books, are fully peer-reviewed, and also support other university presses with the transition to e-publishing.
Open Book Publishers is a no profit organization that publishes books in hardback, paperback, PDF, and eBook editions, but they also include a free online edition that can be read via their website, downloaded, reused, or embedded anywhere.
MIT Press has been a leader in open access book publishing since 1995. It supports a variety of funding models for OA books.
"punctum books is an independent open-access publisher dedicated to radically creative modes of intellectual inquiry and writing across a whimsical para-humanities assemblage."
Lever Press is a peer-reviewed, open access press that charges no fees to either authors or their institutions. Costs of publishing are covered collectively by all supporting institutions.
"Luminos is University of California Press's Open Access publishing program for monographs. With the same high standards for selection, peer-review, production and marketing as our traditional program, Luminos is a transformative model, built as a partnership where costs and benefits are shared."
Language Science Press publishes high quality, peer-reviewed open access books in linguistics. All publications are free for both authors and readers. (Currently the publication of a book in Language Science Press is free of charge to authors thanks to generous grants from sponsors.)
Source: University of Saskatchewan
Unless otherwise noted, content on MHC's OER website is licensed under a 
Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License