JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Open access journals are free and unrestricted and differ from traditional journals by allowing users to read online, download, or print at no cost.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
This directory provides access to high quality, open-access, peer-reviewed journals. Here, you will find content from various disciplines, geographies, and languages.
International Journal of Education and Arts
This journal primarily publishes peer-reviewed research-based field studies. It focuses on art theory, music education, visual arts education, media education, drama education, dance education, education in literature, and narrative and holistic studies that cross these fields.
These open-access journals published by Elsevier are peer-reviewed and are permanently free for everyone to read and download.
OpenAccessJournals.com is "committed to bring forth genuine and reliable scientific contributions to the relevant community."
Wiley Open Access publishes authoritative, peer-reviewed open-access journals across many research disciplines.
Oxford Academic Open Access Journals
Oxford University Press has been publishing open access content since 2004, and contains a wide variety of fully open access journals.
Canadian Research Knowledge Network Open Access Journals List
With the goal of improving the discoverability of gold open access journals, CRKN maintains a list of open access journals maintained by CRKN institution.
Business
Springer Open Business Journals
Features a wide variety of open access journals in business, management, and law.
Criminal Justice
Canadian Journal of Criminology and Criminal Justice
The Canadian Journal of Criminology and Criminal Justice publishes coverage of the theoretical and scientific aspects of the study of crime and the practical problems of law enforcement, administration of justice, and the treatment of offenders, particularly in the Canadian context. Published by the University of Toronto Press.
Education
American Educational Research Association
AERA publishes seven highly respected, peer-reviewed journals that feature the field's leading research.
Education Next aims to provide news and research to bring evidence to bear on current education policy.
Current Issues in Education is an open access, peer-reviewed academic education journal produced by doctoral students at Arizona State University.
Early Learning and Child Care
This journal includes research and field reports related to the school as a community of teachers, parents, and staff. The journal covers topics that range from pre-k classrooms to college classrooms and everything inbetween.
This journal is peer-reviewed and published by the American Educational Research Association. Their aim is to advance knowledge related to education and learning through rigorous empirical and theoretical study. Studies in early childhood, after-school, primary, and secondary, and post-secondary education are included in this journal.
English
88 Open Essays - Composition and Rhetoric
A collection of 88 open essays that is intended to provide instructors with a wide variety of nonfiction examples of good writing that can be used to teach composition.
Nursing and Health Care
This open access online journal publishes research articles, reviews/min-reviews, letters, and guest edited thematic issues for all areas of nursing. This peer-reviewed journal is an important and reliable source of current information on developments in the field.
BMC Nursing is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of nursing research, training, education, and practice.
Social Work
Advances in Social work is a peer-reviewed journal that published original work. Since 2008, "this journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available supports a greater global exchange of knowledge."
The International Journal of Child, Youth, and Family Studies
This journal is a peer-reviewed, open access, interdisciplinary, cross-national journal that is committed to scholarly excellence in the field of research about and services for children, youth, families, and their communities.
Unless otherwise noted, MHC's OER website is licensed under a 
Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.