MHC Library Guides: Education: Find Articles

Find Articles

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
- Coverage includes education-related research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, theses, and books.
- Major resource for education-related topics from the United States Department of Education. 
Education Research Complete
- Covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues.
- Includes all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
- Provides references to current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. 
Canadian Newsstream
- Provides full text access to a wide range of Canadian newspapers
- Newspapers include the National Post, the Calgary Herald, the Edmonton Journal, the Montreal Gazette, and more.
- Photos are excluded (text only).

Authorized Learning Resources Database
- Part of Alberta Education, this webpage is a searchable database of resources that have been authorized for use in Alberta’s classrooms.

- How to use the Authorize Learning Resources Database? Please watch this tutorial

Depending on your topic, you may explore a variety of subject databases.

For the topic of Sexual Education, you may find different perspectives in a health/medical database or religion database.

Academic Search Complete
- Interdisciplinary database that covers Education, Anthropology, Engineering, Law, Sciences, and more.
- Offers access to video content from the Associated Press
Political Science Complete
Provides scholarly articles covering political topics with a worldwide focus. Subjects include
comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, political theory, and more. Features conference papers from the International Political Science Association.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling. Subject coverage also includes anthropology, mental processes, observational-experimental methods, and more.
Points of View Reference Source
An American-sourced database that provides a wide variety of controversial essay topics. It presents multiple sides of a topic including pros & cons. Use this database to provoke further discussion, thought, and study of a topic.
ATLA Religion Database
Provides articles, book reviews, and collections of essays about religion. Subject coverage includes biblical studies, archaeology, church history, missions, religion insocial issues, and more. Coverage dates back from 1949, with some journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century.
CINAHL Ultimate
The most comprehensive article database for nursing. It includes publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Covers a wide range of topics including biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative medicine and consumer health.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Provides scholarly articles covering gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Coverage dates back to 1908 until present. Database features author profiles, showing the most cited, and most frequently searched.
JSTOR (now includes ARTstor images)
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines and includes a rich digital library of art images and descriptive information. The image collection is available for non-commercial and educational use only through the Medicine Hat College Library Services.
SPORTDiscus (Kinesiology/Physiology)
Provides coverage for all areas of sports and sports medicine literature. Subject coverage includes physical education, orthopedics, coaching and education, consumer health, and more.

Canada Commons (Des Libris eBook Collection)
- Interdisciplinary database
- Offers public documents and eBooks from Canadian scholarly publishers in the fields of: Education, History, Language & Literature, and more.

(Photos,Video & Music) Creative Commons
- Creative Commons provides free copyright licenses
- Public has permission to share and use creative work–on conditions of the author's choice.

News In Review (Curio - CBC)
- CBC's premier current-event news series for the classroom.
- Complex news stories are broken down and given context.
- Each story comes with a teacher resource guide, developed by high school teachers.
- Create an account for access to support materials
Videatives Streaming Services
- Provides thousands of “video clips for early childhood, early education & child development.”
- Perfect for exploring child development through various subjects, toys and teaching strategies with children from infancy to seven. 
Films On Demand
- Stream videos from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas.
- Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists. 
National Film Board (NFB) Campus
- National Film Board of Canada; all films include public performance rights
- Users can create playlists, access pedagogical descriptions and study guides for each title, and search by school curriculum and grade level. 
- Create an account for full access to instructional resources
CBC Curio
- CBC and Radio-Canada’s streaming service developed expressly for the Canadian educational community.
- You will find documentaries from television and radio, news reports and more
- Collection supports provincial K-12 curricula and post-secondary courses
Kanopy
-Provides access to films and documentaries of unique social and cultural value, including foreign language films and films on race and current affairs.

How do I use library databases?

To access library databases off-campus, log in with your campus credentials; the same username and password combination used to access your student accounts.

Education

Find Articles

How do I use library databases?

Search