Skip to Main Content
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Education

Curriculum

"Alberta’s provincial Kindergarten to Grade 12 curriculum, or “programs of study”, is defined as “what” students are expected to know, understand, and be able to do in each subject and grade" (Alberta Education, 2018, Curriculum Development, para.1).

Alberta Curriculum

"While Alberta Education determines “what” students need to learn in provincial curriculum, teachers use their professional judgment to determine “how” students achieve the learning outcomes in the provincial curriculum." (Alberta Education, 2018, Curriculum Development, para.2).

  • Alberta Education: find curriculum standards and assessment outcomes for early childhood education, primary education, and secondary education in Alberta. 
  • Programs of Study:  provides information on what students learn, resources to support their learning, as well as diploma exams and provincial achievement tests (PAT)
  • Writing Diploma Exams: An overview of the grade 12 diploma exams, including information on courses, dates, practice questions, guides, registration and rules.

© 2018 Alberta Education

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

  • new.LearnAlberta.ca: New LearnAlberta is Alberta's bilingual platform for teachers, parents, students to access the 2021 draft Kindergarten to Grade 6 (K–6) curriculum and the current core curriculum. The teacher guide is very helpful.
  • LearnAlberta.ca: the legacy platform. This platform also contains resources that may support the new curricula. See Library Service Desk for login information.
  • T4T Courses: Tools 4 Teachers, these provincially authorized resources include student courses, assignments, teacher resources, and answer key

 

© 2018 LearnAlberta.ca

  • Authorized Learning Resources Database part of Alberta Education, this database  helps you find resources that have been authorized for use in Alberta’s classrooms
  • The resources in this database have gone through a review process by Alberta Education to make sure they align with Alberta’s Kindergarten to Grade 12 programs of study. 
  • The use of provincially authorized instructional resources is not mandatory. School authorities are responsible for choosing, at the local level, instructional resources that assist in the provision of learning opportunities for students.
  •  How to use the Authorize Learning Resources Database?  Please watch this tutorial created by University of Alberta Libraries

   Find Curriculum Resources From The Library Catalogue

  • The Curriculum Collection contains more than 4,000 resources that can be used for planning and teaching in the classroom.
  • Items can be mailed to you during your out-of-town teaching practicum.

Icon made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com ACTIVITY-BASED RESOURCES

- Puppets

- Lego

- Instruments

- Educational Games

 MATH

- Base Ten Starter Kits

- Counters

- Pattern Blocks

- Geometric Solids                                                             

ENGLISH 

  - Language Arts Kits

  - Literacy for the early years

  -  Word Recognition 

   - Readers Theater

     

Icons made by Freepick from www.flaticon.com

Browse the Vera Bracken Library Curriculum Location

           While you browse the Curriculum shelves use these associated terms and call number ranges respectively

000 General works
100 Philosophy and psychology
200 Religion
300 Social sciences
400 Language (Language arts)
500 Science and mathematics
600 Technology
700 Arts and recreation (Including physical education)
800 Literature
900 History, geography, and biography